Slides from “How we build quality software at uSwitch.com”

I’d like to thank everyone that came to Skills Matter for the talk this week. As Gojko mentioned, it was good to see another full house at a London Agile Testing event. The full house didn’t help the nerves, though the few chuckles at my bad jokes help settle those. I owe a beer to those who laughed.

Slides and links

The slides are available to view on slideshare and as promised, I’ve put a list of resources (videos, podcasts etc) below:

I will also put the cheat sheet we use for gathering acceptance criteria online for download; I usually ping links through my Twitter account.

Contributing to the community

Gojko Adzic, the leader of the London Agile Testing group also posted a great write-up of the talk, many thanks to him.

I was asked if I would return in 12 months to provide another insight into how we develop after continuously evolving our process. I happily agreed, however with hindsight I would have agreed to do so only if others provide an insight for the community into their agile testing effort and experience. Peer-reviews are invaluable and we should utilise the community we have to help us all improve and learn from each other. Please get in touch with Gojko to get involved.

Awesome team

My talk was a reflection of the process that we’ve evolved as a team. Everyone in the department contributes to the evolution and continuous improvement, not only of the process, but the environment we work in. Without these people there wouldn’t have been much for me to talk about! The fifth slide from the end of the presentation contains all the team members on Twitter, it’s well worth following them all.

3 Responses to “Slides from “How we build quality software at uSwitch.com””


  1. 1 Nathan Bain 30 October, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Hemal,

    Great talk at Skillsmatter – I really enjoyed it. I agree that others in the testing community should talk about their successes and failures in adopting particular approaches to agile testing. This is something Anand Ramdeo and I did at Skillsmatter a few months back. Again, kudos to Skillsmatter for giving us all a platform to do this.

    I think the most interesting point from your talk was the removal of the concept of a QA team in your company. As I mentioned at the talk, I feel the presence of a team of people who have the job of “Quality Assurance” can create a psychological barrier to any developer. Take away that “safety net”, and suddenly everybody is responsible for ensuring that the product is working and of an acceptable quality. Of course every company and team is different, and finding the best approach for your own team is what’s most important. Your approach seems to be working for USwitch.

    I look forward to your follow up presentation in a years time (if thoughtworks haven’t snapped you up by then).

    Nathan..

  2. 2 Hemal 1 November, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    Hi Nathan,

    Thanks for the message 🙂 I meant to introduce myself and say hello but didn’t get a chance.. Hopefully next month. I wasn’t able to make your session but caught up with it online, enjoyed it and it motivated me to do one myself.

    You’re right about the removal of QA being interesting, it was in fact the most challenging change for our teams and for me personally. It’s worth questioning what the role of QA actually is; by our definition if something is ‘quality assured’ that means the process it was built in advocates quality from start to finish. What we used to do and call ‘QA’ was in fact ‘quality control’, looking at the product after it’s been made and try to fix it, or ‘test quality into it’.

    Getting rid of the quality control safety net was what forced us to get our quality assurance up to scratch.. I might write a post going into more detail 🙂

    Hemal

  3. 3 Nathan 16 November, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Good to see you at the Red Bead experiment last week.

    I forgot to mention at the time – my new role is “Software Developer”, not Tester. Following U-Switch’s lead… 😉


Leave a Reply

